The Next Big Thing/Stormie’s Way

Thanks so much to A.S. Finechel for tagging me in this game, The Next Big Thing. Writing can be a solitary business, and I’ve found this game useful because I can follow each author’s tags, and trace the author’s who have tagged them. It also gave me an opportunity to extend the opportunity to other authors.

The Next Big Thing is a game where authors spend a bit talking about their books, works-in progress, likes and dislikes.

Here is the link for A.S. Finechel’s blog. Don’t forget to check it out. She’s an awesome writer and great talent.

http://asfenichel.net/blog/2012/10/22/the-next-big-thing/

So, let’s get to it.

The Next Big Thing

What is the working title of your book?

The working title is Battling Rapture.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Battling Rapture was in my head from the moment I wrote my first title for Ellora’s Cave, Inc., Enslaved in Desire. At the end of Enslaved in Desire, Camryn and Venn begin a search for Camryn’s sister Niki. In Battling Rapture, they find her.

What genre does your book fall under?

I’m really bad with this, but I’m going with futuristic erotic romance.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Gina Torres from Firefly fame would play Niki. Clean faced and blonde, either Jason Momoa or Chris Hemsworth could be Rhine.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

A tough, capable resistance fighter captured by hostile alien invaders, battles alongside her handsome rescuer to outmaneuver beast shifters and a crazed killer in order to reunite with her family and seize the promise of rapture she feels in her deliverer’s touch.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I don’t have an agent, but I hope my book will be published by the same publishing house as my first published work. (Fingers crossed.)

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I edited along the way, with the help of my critique partner, A.S. Finechel. It was about 2-3 months. I started and stopped a few times. Then I joined a writing group on Facebook. I cleared 50,000 words in a month. I had to sit and stare at the computer when nothing would come to me, but I got it done.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t know. I need help with this one. Maybe, something steamy with a capture fantasy edge. Give me an example if you have read, Enslaved in Desire.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

When I finished with Enslaved in Desire, I knew Rhine needed someone too strong to be ruled by his growing cynical nature. Niki was perfect because she needed someone who understood the pain from her childhood, and someone patient enough to find the real Niki under her layers of armor.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, if you like a capable and feisty heroine you will love this book. Captain Rhine, the hero, is what I call a modern alpha. Maybe he’s an alpha/beta hybrid. He’s protective, patient, caring, but completely willing to take charge. Even if that means someone gets tied up, and receives a tongue lashing.

 

Now for those I tagged. Be sure to check out their The Next Big Thing Blog the week of November 5, 2012.

Gerri Bowen
http://gerribowen.wordpress.com

Michael Mandrake

http://tabooindeed.blogspot.com

Aliya Griffin

http://amgriffinbooks.blogspot.com/

 Harlie Williams

http://harliewilliams.com/

Message for the tagged authors and interested others:

Rules of the Next Big Thing
***Use this format for your post
***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (work in progress)
***Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing:
What is your working title of your book?
Where did the idea come from for the book?
What genre does your book fall under?
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Include the link of who tagged you and this explanation for the people you have tagged.

Be sure to line up your five people in advance.

 

About Stormie Kent

Stormie Kent is the author of romance with science-fiction, paranormal and contemporary elements. The universe she has envisioned for her erotic sci-fi romances are filled with warrior men and the women who fiercely love them. Space pirates abound with dueling goals of stealing your credits and your life or stealing villain credits and freeing the slaves of the United Universe. Stormie has imagined a world where the hostile alien invasion of the third planet from the Sun forces each surviving resident of a fractured Earth to seize their destiny or perish. Enslaved in Desire and Battling Rapture are available now.

Posted on 10/29/2012, in Work-In-Progress and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great answers, Stomie! I’m not sure what I would compare it with. Maybe a combination of Star Trek and Aliens but with a lot of hot sex and romance. LOL.

  2. Great Blog Stormie, and thanks to let us know when your next book is coming
    I wish you a nice evening and great success on your writting
    Cheers

  1. Pingback: GERRI BOWEN and THE NEXT BIG THING | Gerri Bowen

Leave a Reply

