Stormie’s (Attempts) at Zen Sunday

 

Do you ever have the feeling you could be more productive if you didn’t feel so tired, frazzled, sick or just plain old blah? Just like many other people, I have an everyday job (EDJ), my part-time job (my writing), a young family and various obligations. My schedule is so full I’ve fallen asleep in my laptop more times than I care to admit. I’m sure I’m not alone.

What was I supposed to do anyway? There wasn’t any room for a lifestyle make-over in my schedule. Then my tiredness began affecting my writing. I have to write after the day job and family obligations are over each day. I wasn’t getting to it. I was asleep instead. My laptop was looking at me while I snored away.

Completely unacceptable. Unhappiness ensued.

So, I vowed to change, modify, subtract or add one lifestyle habit each week with each week building on the last. Two weeks ago I started taking vitamins again. I know I started very small, but when you aren’t doing anything, a little bit feels like a lot. I am managing most days with the vitamins and I am not as tired, though that isn’t saying much.

Last week was supposed to be exercise, three days a week. *Crickets* Okay, I managed one day. Any other time this would have derailed me, but not this time. I’ll just add that goal to this week’s goal: meditation.

Remember, I’m doing all this to have the energy and focus to write. I have to write. Writing is the only thing that I do just for me. Everything else is for the care and feeding of my family.

So I pulled out my dusty DVD called, Practical Meditation With Buddhist Principles. I wanted to brush up on my skills. The DVD is great for giving basic instructions, encouragement and form. And the music/sounds are soothing, but I found I was distracted by the monk’s talking. I turned it off and tried to concentrate on my inhalations and exhalations.

It was one of the hardest things I ever had to do in my life. My mind drifted to my WIP’s plot. I was distracted by my grocery list and the to-do list for the day. I had an itch between my shoulder blades. Heck, I even started daydreaming about Orko from the cartoon He-Man. I wrote him a plot line and everything. Why? I don’t know.

The monk in the video calls this the Monkey Mind. That was distracting in itself. I don’t like references to monkeys. EVER. He just meant that in the beginning the mind is disquiet. I have characters in my head. My head is a bit more disquiet than I want to admit.

I hope my mind can get quiet soon. I will also spend some time over at, Learning Meditation,  I have been to their site before and found it helpful. Maybe I’ll get a relaxing sounds cd as well.

Is anyone else on a journey to achieve health and happiness? I’ll be here every Sunday sharing my struggle. Feel free to offer your advice. Next week I add more vegetables to my life. *Sigh*

Stormie

Website

Twitter

Facebook

 

About Stormie Kent

Stormie Kent is the author of romance with science-fiction, paranormal and contemporary elements. The universe she has envisioned for her erotic sci-fi romances are filled with warrior men and the women who fiercely love them. Space pirates abound with dueling goals of stealing your credits and your life or stealing villain credits and freeing the slaves of the United Universe. Stormie has imagined a world where the hostile alien invasion of the third planet from the Sun forces each surviving resident of a fractured Earth to seize their destiny or perish. Enslaved in Desire and Battling Rapture are available now.

Posted on 10/21/2012, in Zen Sunday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great Blog. I meditate almost every day. I will check out the site you mentioned. I’ve been using Silva Meditations. I have an app for my Iphone. The “good morning” meditation is very mind focusing and I like that one best. There is an energy one that I use if I start to peter out in the afternoon. Best of luck with the new life plan.

Leave a Reply

