Can Your Sense Of Smell Lead You to Your Most Sexually Compatible Mate?

I will always associate Cool Water by Davidoff with good times with my ex. To this day, smelling the fragrance reminds me of our first “real date” fifteen years ago at the jazz and supper club, Blues Alley, in Washington, DC. Just what role does smell play in finding a partner? According to Ian Kerner, sexuality counselor, smell is an important component of emotions and attraction.

While researching this topic I came across the term major histocompatibility complex or MHC numerous times. The genes MHC are major role players in our immune systems. Studies to test how well we can detect MHC asked women to rate the natural (no artificial scents like cologne) smells of men’s t-shirts. The women consistently preferred the smell of men whose MHC was dissimilar from their own.

If the t-shirt had a similar MHC to theirs women considered the scent “brotherly” or “fatherly”. Women’s noses keep them from mating with these men. Sometimes.

Taking the birth control pill blocks a woman’s ability to discern which mate has the proper MHC for them. Why could this get dicey? Kerner claims that women who report having happier sex lives also say they love their man’s scent. Have you ever heard a friend say she suddenly can’t stand her partners smell? Ask her if she recently stopped taking birth control pills.

What about men? Apparently ovulating women produce pheromones called copulins. The copulins increase testosterone in men. Ah, testosterone. It’s a nice hormone that raises the libido of men and women. Chick a wow wow. (Sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

When we kiss and hug we are also employing our sense of smell. Do you hug without inhaling? That closeness also releases oxytocin and other neurotransmitters that leave us with a wonderful bonded and connected feeling.

In my book, Enslaved in Desire, Camryn is forced to live among hyper sensitive aliens for whom her unique, unadorned scent is an aphrodisiac. Clearly, the circumstances in Enslaved in Desire are fiction. I did not realize as I was writing it that humans have the unconscious ability to recognize compatible mates through their sense of smell.

You are a sexy mate detecting superstar, if you pay attention to who and what  please your sense of smell.

The information I read on smell and attraction mainly focused on F/M relationships but attraction is attraction. I’m sure F/F, M/M and any combinations of three or more F’s and M’s would have similar results.

Yes, I know other factors are involved in attraction and mate selection. Don’t rush me. I’ll get to those elements later.

So tell me, do you love your mate’s scent? Are you equally aroused by them freshly showered or sensuously sweaty? If you are in between relationships tell me what scents you find sexy. I’d love to hear from you.

Stormie

About Stormie Kent

Stormie Kent is the author of romance with science-fiction, paranormal and contemporary elements. The universe she has envisioned for her erotic sci-fi romances are filled with warrior men and the women who fiercely love them. Space pirates abound with dueling goals of stealing your credits and your life or stealing villain credits and freeing the slaves of the United Universe. Stormie has imagined a world where the hostile alien invasion of the third planet from the Sun forces each surviving resident of a fractured Earth to seize their destiny or perish. Enslaved in Desire and Battling Rapture are available now.

Posted on 01/28/2012, in Attraction and Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. What an interesting post! I completely agree. I can tell you what is in someone’s fridge from outside their house. Sometimes, it’s no fun to have the super sniffer! Especially when it comes to living in close quarters with others. I’ve been married 6 years to the perfect man for me. He has no body odor. No scent whatsoever. I am insanely attracted to him. And, among other reasons, I know scent, or lack thereof, is why. 🙂 He knows to stay away from garlicy food, though.

  2. I have super nose as well. This was one of the reasons I found this so interesting. In one of the studies women said they didn’t smell a scent but still picked the men’s shirts with different MHC every time. Sounds like you guys are a perfect match 😉

  3. a very intresting aritcal Thanks

  4. I think in general women have better sniffers then men. It’s always the woman who smells the gas leak or the smoke. I love the way my man smells. I love it when he gets out of bed first and I can roll over and sniff the pillow he just vacated. It’s like heaven. Yummy! Of course I think everything about him is yummy.

    Great post, Stormie! Really interesting.
    A.S. Fenichel
    http://www.asfenichel.com

    • Hi A.S.,
      The perfect partner (for them) is what most people are looking for. It sounds like you have that. And yes, they have proven that, in general, women have a better sense of smell.

  5. I love this word ‘Histocompatibility’. I totally agree that scent and taste in kissing to find a mate. Isn’t the human body wonderful. Great article.

  6. Intriguing post, Stormie. I’ve been married for 24 years and still love my husband’s scent. Guess it was meant to be!

    Best–Adele

    • Hi Adele,
      I love to hear about true and lasting love. 24 years says a good deal about what you and your husband have built together. You guys must have great “chemistry”.

  7. Interesting blog. I think scent does play a huge part in finding a mate. So does taste. I’ve always said if I was blindfolded and made to kiss a line of guys, I’d know my guy instantly.

  8. A heightened sense of smell, and the ability to detect and recognize pheromones, also feature largely in my alien series. 🙂

    And yes, I very much liked the way my husband smelled. He’s one of those extremely rare men whose sweat has no odor. None. It’s like he’s sweating pure salt water. He hasn’t needed deoderant since puberty, and I’ve never known him to wear cologne or any other sort of artificial scent. He always just smells clean. Clean is good.

  9. As a Newbie, I am always browsing online for articles that can aid me. Thank you

Leave a Reply

